National Honor Society Induction

dsc_0196The National Honor Society was established in 1921 to recognize outstanding high school students. On April 27, 13 talented and accomplished White Mountain students were inducted into the NHS in a formal ceremony during Family Weekend. On behalf of her fellow NHS peers, Student Body President Pyper Williams ’18 began by thanking all those who have supported them along the way. She shared, “We would like to give thanks to teachers who guide us to be informed and compassionate individuals; to advisors who care for us and constantly provide their undying support; to our coaches who push us to our limits and lead us to be the best we can be; and to our parents who consistently give their love and support through the many ups and downs of our lives.”

dsc_0267Julia Crocker ’18 went on to describe the mission of the National Honor Society which she said is “to create enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, promote leadership and to develop character in secondary school students.” To be considered for NHS, students must have earned a 3.3 GPA or higher for their entire high school career. They can be in any grade, but must have been a student at White Mountain for at least one semester. Nominees must excel in the areas of scholarship, leadership, character and service.

dsc_0291Yalda Mauj ’19 explained that being accepted into the National Honor Society is the beginning of what we hope will be a lasting dedication to these four important tenets. She said, “The White Mountain School not only recognizes our NHS students for their past accomplishments but also challenges them to further develop their strengths as leaders through continued studies, leadership, immersion in community service projects and the life of the school.” Current NHS members hold many important leadership roles on campus including student ambassadors, crew and work job supervisors, captains of sports teams, morning meeting leaders, club leaders, proctors, and student leaders of Field Courses. Yalda noted that in addition to these noticeable leadership roles, NHS also “recognizes students who are quiet leaders and work behind the scenes, supporting and encouraging their classmates, teammates and friends to be successful and happy members of the community.”

Congratulations to the newest members of The National Honor Society:

Alana Bonilla ’19, Nickel Carlson ’20, Ana Chambers ’19, Nathaniel Clement ’20, Ayanna Dukes ’20,  Laura Gonzalez ’20, Sam Gregorich ’18, Gabriel Hernandez ’20, Alice Liu ’19, Hudson Marks ’19, Lydia Pinkham ’19, EJ Rimerman ’19, Evelyn Thompson ’19

They join these current members of NHS:

Liana Alford ’18, Marlon Andrew ’19, Rosie Bailey ’19, Fatimata Cham ’19, Ben Cohen ’18, Julia Crocker ’18, Zirui Feng ’18, Ziyi Feng ’18, Wenyi Guo ’18, Mariama Lemon ’20, Bill Luo ’18, Yalda Mauj ’19, Corrine McGrath ’18, Djenebou Semega ’19, Grace Tamlyn ’18, Pyper Williams ’18, Liang Zhuang ’18

If you would like to watch the video of the NHS Induction ceremony you can click here.



Leave a Reply